Archive for akira kiteshi

Broken Note – Zound [BOKA032]

Posted in developments, release news with tags , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , on October 24, 2010 by Boka Records

Released on 1st November 2010 is Broken Note’s dancefloor devastator ‘Zound’, initially available will be 150 special limited edition 12″ hand-stamped white labels with a free sticker!

Buy here:
Or here:

Broken Note – “Zound” [Exclusive Preview – BOKA032] by boka

Full artwork finished copies and the digital release will be available in the first week of December, date to be confirmed asap.

Youtube hype video:

Support from Chasing Shadows, 16bit, Vista, Akira Kiteshi and more….

BOKA033 – Skinnz – Keep It Gutta / Euphorbia will be up next, late November release.


DJ Madd – Flex’d (Ikonika Remix) / Detroit Skank (BOKA028)

Posted in developments, release news, Uncategorized with tags , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , on May 15, 2010 by Boka Records

Released on 31st May 2010 is a brand new single from DJ Madd.

Madd is on a heater right now with support for his music coming from all angles, and so the time is right to release argueably his biggest and most supported track ‘Detroit Skank’, first showcased on Skream‘s ‘Stella Sessions’ radio show on RinseFM.
It’s a beast of a roller which expertly incorporates dub and techno influences and the bassline on this one is absolutely sick, the likes of Headhunter, Skream, RSD and Akira Kiteshi have been utlising it in the raves to devastating effect.

DJ Madd

On the A-side of the single is a post-garage relick of ‘Flex’d’ (the original was released on DJ Madd’s ‘Better With You EP’ – BOKA020) by Hyperdub‘s finest, Ikonika.
It was first showcased by Alleycat on her highly successful Kokeshi Podkast series and is currently garnering support from Mary Anne Hobbs and Martyn. It’s certainly a musical departure for the Boka camp but 2010 has been all about diversifying and showcasing all styles within the realms of bass music.

DJ Madd

a) Flex’d (Ikonika Remix)
aa) Detroit Skank

Released on 31st May 2010 on 12″ Vinyl / Digital
Pre-order the vinyl at Redeye Records here

Coming in late June / early July will be a debut from Vista & Presence Known ‘Their Prey / Water Torture’ (BOKA029)……watch out, this one evil.

Boka Interview and Mix on Kmag & Hush House

Posted in developments, Mixes, release news with tags , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , on January 26, 2010 by Boka Records

To start off the new year in style Boka has had two interviews on the web as well as an exclusive label mix for Kmag (Formerly Knowledge magazine).

Kmag Interview and exclusive mix available here now:

Mix tracklist:

  1. Matt-U – Double Blind (Dub)
  2. Matt-U – Whyle The Fuck Out (BOKA023)
  3. Truth – Hackerz (forthcoming Boka)
  4. DJ Madd – Better With You (BOKA020)
  5. DJ Madd – Detroit Skank (forthcoming Boka)
  6. 16bit – Chainsaw Calligraphy (Jakes Remix) (BOKA024PT1)
  7. JSL – Jack Cates (forthcoming Boka)
  8. DJ Madd – Better With You (Akira Kiteshi Remix) (BOKA022)
  9. Matt-U & Riskotheque – Guillotine Growl (forthcoming Boka)
  10. 16bit – In The Death Car (BOKA018)
  11. Emalkay – Solid State (forthcoming Storming Productions)
  12. Tunnidge – Higher Forces (BOKA019)
  13. Von D & DJ Madd – U (forthcoming Boka)
  14. 16bit – Chainsaw Calligraphy (PropaTingz Crunk Massacre Remix) (BOKA024PT1)
  15. DJ Madd – Flex’d (Ikonika Remix) (forthcoming Boka)

Lengthy interview also online now on the Hush House blog here:

Look out for the full vinyl releases of Matt-U – Can’t Wake Up / Whyle The F*ck Out and 16bit – Chainsaw Calligraphy: The Remixes Parts 1 & 2 released soon.

BOKA025 – JSL – The Jack Cates EP will be released on 12″ Vinyl / Digital on 1st March 2010.

More news soon.

Coming soon – BOKA022 DJ Madd / Akira Kiteshi

Posted in developments, release news with tags , , , , , , , , , , , , , on September 17, 2009 by Boka Records

Boka are on a roll, the plan being to have one release a month to round off 2009, lots of treats currently sitting in the BOKA-DJ bag are about to be flung into consumers-ville to the delight of your murky ears….

BOKA022 – DJ Madd – Better With You (Akira Kiteshi Remix) / I Know It’s You

The highly anticipated Akira Kiteshi remix is nearly upon us, being a big fan of the original it was only natural that we asked the jolly Scotsman to jump on remix duties. The results are pretty mind-blowing, proper rave music of the relentless variety…..just wait for the second-drop.

DJ Madd having moved from Budapest, Hungary and now residing in Bristol, UK is about to make some big moves and the track ‘I Know It’s You’ again proves his versatility to the dubstep sound, support on this one has already come from the likes of Rob Da Bank and TRG, expect more wicked beats to emerge from man like Madd soon…..

But lets not get too far ahead of ourselves…..Marlow‘s release is out next week (28th September). Yee!

BOKA Records HQ – Mix Vol.1 (BOKAHQ001)

Posted in developments, Mixes with tags , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , on September 6, 2009 by Boka Records

This will be the first in a series of mixes brought to you direct from BOKA HQ.
The motivation behind this is to showcase the sounds that influences BOKA to keep doing what they’re doing.
Keep checking back as hopefully this will become a monthly thing.

1. Kryptic Minds – Chosen Few (Swamp 81)
2. Truth – Terror Planet (Aquatic Lab Records)
3. Tunnidge – Riddles Of Jah VIP (BOKA Records – BOKA019)
4. Marlow – Bandwagon Junglist (BOKA Records – BOKA021)
5. DJ Madd – Better With You (BOKA Records – BOKA020)
6. Skream – Trapped In A Dark Bubble (Tectonic)
7. Babylon System – Hyphy (Argon Records)
8. DJ Madd – Better With You (Akira Kiteshi Remix) (BOKA Records – BOKA022)
9. Benga – One Million (Tempa)
10. Skream – Hitch (Tempa)
11. Von D – Echolow (Black Acre Records)
12. DJ Madd – Reasonz (BOKA Records – BOKA020)
13. Von D – Truth (Tes La Rok remix) (Black Acre Records)